Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Teddog

New Admin, New Contest, New Prizes...

Hey everyone! The name is Rach and I was an early admin over at Ad Astra. Steff invited me back to keep the peace and to run contests!

I have one in the works now - details will come later, but I'm curious what prizes people would be interested in. There are the ideas I'm thinking over:

- Featured author. Like the Featured Story, but for an author, not a fic.

- Custom cover. A cover for the story you pick.

- Custom Avatar set. A matching set of an avatar, a sig and a custom title for the forums!

Or... maybe you have something else, something better in mind. We'd love to hear what prizes would interest you. :)

The custom cover and avatar are cool ideas but bound to be way too time consuming for those concerned. No point setting up future headaches. Especially with the fortnightly turn over of the challenges. Perhaps as a special award coming up to special occasions.

Nah, not really.  Teddog and I both do graphics or have done graphics for our living, so we're pretty good at it, and Mike's awesome at rendering models for covers if someone wants something ship-based.  This looks more like it's gonna be a monthly thing, instead of the 'every two weeks' like the current set I'm running.

Well in that case I'll vote for the custom cover! You guys are awesome. That not a bribe - unless it works of course  ;D :D

LMAO!  We are unbribable, but we love you too.  It's a loving place.

Seriously, though, half the fun of running an archive is fostering excitement and creativity and interaction, and having a bit of contest variety can only be a good thing.  The challenge/featured story/fanart/review hunt is a really good one that works well, but having another monthly treat that people can have fun with?  It'll be good stuff.

Are you going to break out into a Rod Stewart song? :)

I really wish I could do textures as well as you do, though! :)

MDg